Marshfield High School Students Named Semifinalists in National Merit Scholarship Program

Three Marshfield High School students have been named semifinalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. They are Eben Lonsdale, Macy Perrine, and Tyler Katzenberger.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) this week announced the names of 16,000 Semifinalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. Over 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 400 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

News Desk
Author: News Desk