Joey Goettl Wins VFA West Offensive Player of the Year, Dennis Goettl Wins Coach of the Year

Marshfield Tiger Quarterback Joey Goettl throws a pass in a 25-7 victory of Wausau West

Marshfield High School Quarterback Joey Goettl was selected as both the Offensive Player of the Year and the Offensive Back of the Year in the end of season awards released by the VFA.

Marshfield Tiger football coach Dennis Goettl was selected as the Coach of the Year as the Tigers clinched at least a share of the conference title for the third straight year.

Goettl was also on the All-Conference First Team Offense. He is joined on that team by fellow Tiger Matt Rutschow, a senior offensive lineman, and Wyatt LeMoine, a junior receiver.

All-Conference First Team Defense selections for the Tigers include Tyler Wein, a senior defensive lineman; Ethan Dagit, a junior defensive end; Ben Gust, a senior inside linebacker; Emmett Meissner, a senior outside linebacker; Parker Weik, a junior cornerback; Dustin Altman, a senior safety; and Kyle Tremelling, a senior kicker.

All-Conference Second Team Offensive selections for the Tigers include Garrett Anderson, a junior offensive lineman; Devin Dieringer, a junior offensive lineman; Simon Slade, a junior receiver; Sam Hinson, a senior running back; and Will Nikolai, a junior running back.

All-Conference Second Team Defense selections for the Tigers include Tyler Hahm, a senior defensive lineman; Brenden Braund, a junior outside linebacker; Brayden Richardson, a senior safety; and Simon Slade, who also made the defensive squad as a return specialist.

A full list of all-conference teams can be found here.

Steven Okonek
Author: Steven Okonek