Stratford wins nine titles, takes sixth-straight Marawood Conference Wrestling Meet title

AUBURNDALE – Stratford had nine individual champions and three others finished second as it cruised to its sixth-straight Marawood Conference Wrestling Tournament title on Saturday at Auburndale High School.

The Tigers racked up 308 points, with Phillips edging Edgar 172-170 for second. Auburndale was sixth with 80 points and also had two individual champions.

Freshman Gavin Drexler continued his undefeated season, improving to 38-0 after winning the 113-pound title for Stratford. Drexler needed just 47 seconds to pin Nick Van Rixel of Marathon in the championship match.

Manny Drexler won the 120-pound title with a 5-2 win over Dane Klinger of Marathon and is now 34-3 this season.

Max Schwabe knocked off Isaiah Hasenohrl of Auburndale 5-1 to win the 132-pound championship match for the Tigers. Schwabe is now 38-2.

Max Licciardi improved to 34-4 with a pin of Athens’ Jonathan Albrecht in the 145-pound title match.

Trevor Dennee (182) and Dylan Schoenherr (285) both improved to 36-1 this season by winning their respective weight classes for Stratford.

Other champions for Stratford were: Derek Marten (13-2 at 152 pounds), Devin Dennee (30-9 at 160) and Hunter Ford (32-6 at 170).

Auburndale freshman Noah Altmann won the 106-pound title, pinning Logan Gaulke of Stratford in 2:53 in the championship match. Altmann is now 29-8.

Dylan Baird won Auburndale’s other title, beating Jacob Heiden of Stratford 6-1 in the 138-pound finals. Baird is now 22-7 and Heiden falls to 23-8.

Also placing second for Stratford was Trevor Steiner (26-10), who lost the 195-pound final to William Raatz of Edgar, 13-1.

Freshman Cole Marten (22-13) finished third at 220 pounds and Derek Krause was fourth at 126 for the Tigers.

Auburndale and Stratford will compete at the WIAA Division 3 regionals at Edgar on Feb. 9.

2019 Marawood Conference Wrestling Tournament
Team scores:
1. Stratford 308; 2. Phillips 172; 3. Edgar 170; 4. Athens 162; 5. Chequamegon 123.5; 6. Auburndale 80; 7. Marathon 72.
106 pounds
Championship: Noah Altmann (AUB) pinned Logan Gaulke (ST), 2:53.
Third place: Mathias Hoogland (PH) won by major dec. over Ian Oswald (CHQ), 16-4.
Fifth place: Blake Tarter (ED) pinned Emily Stieber (MAR), 2:38.
113 pounds
Championship: Gavin Drexler (ST) pined Nick Van Rixel (MAR), 0:47.
Third place: Gabe Weiks (ATH) pinned Thomas Cotner (PH), 5:23.
Fifth place: Gianantonio Brazzola (ED).
120 pounds
Championship: Manny Drexler (ST) def. Dane Klinger (MAR), 5-2.
Third place: Dominic Kurth (PH) def. John Miller (CHQ), 6-1.
Fifth place: Hunter Godard (AUB).
126 pounds
Championship: Javyn Freeman (PH) pinned Carter Brunke (ATH), 5:09.
Third place: Jaden Schienebeck (CHQ) def. Derek Kraus (ST), 3-0.
Fifth place: Jared Sweno (MAR) pinned Kane Lipinski (ED), 0:35.
132 pounds
Championship: Max Schwabe (ST) def. Isaiah Hasenohrl (AUB), 5-1.
Third place: Hunter Bruhn (PH) pinned Chase Ellenbecker (ATH), 0:29.
Fifth place: Owen Miesbauer (CHQ) def. Nick Reynolds (MAR) by forfeit.
138 pounds
Championship: Dylan Baird (AUB) def. Jacob Heiden (ST), 6-1.
Third place: William Graf (CHQ) won major dec. over Adam Mitchell (PH), 10-2.
Fifth place: Jesse Jisko (ED) pinned Isabelle den Otter (ATH), 1:45.
145 pounds
Championship: Mav Licciardi (ST) pinned Jonathan Albrecht (ATH), 1:18.
Third place: Jakob Lipinski (ED) won by major dec. over Jacob Revie (PH), 10-1.
Fifth place: Brent Lau (AUB) pinned Tristen Dehnel (MAR), 1:09.
152 pounds
Championship: Derek Marten (ST) won major dec. over Brandon Bruneau (PH), 11-0.
Third place: Michael Kirch (CHQ) pinned Kaden Redmann (ATH), 0:45.
Fifth place: Ethan Lemmer (ED) pinned Jocelyn Van Rixel (MAR), 0:21.
160 pounds
Championship: Devin Dennee (ST) def. Ty Guden (ED), 4-0.
Third place: Patrick Redmann (ATH) def. Beau Mullins (CHQ), 8-6.
Fifth place: Owen Roe (PH).
170 pounds
Championship: Hunter Ford (ST) won major dec. over R.J. Knetter (ED), 14-0.
Third place: Parker Anderson (PH) pinned Dominic Schmidt (CHQ), 1:24.
Fifth place: Addison Sedivy (MAR) pinned Trystan Cator (ATH), 3:46.
182 pounds
Championship: Trevor Dennee (ST) pinned Brock Handrick (ED), 3:01.
Third place: Jordan Decker (ATH) def. Kees Hoogland (PH), 9-3.
195 pounds
Championship: William Raatz (ED) won major dec. over Trevor Steiner (ST), 13-1.
Third place: Max Brunner (CHQ) pinned Peyton Zettler (ATH), 0:21.
220 pounds
Championship: Ethan Heil (ED) won major dec. over Connor Westfall (ATH), 14-4.
Third place: Cole Marten (ST) def. Isaiah Upson (PH), 11-7.
Fifth place: Cameron Blount (MAR).
285 pounds
Championship: Dylan Schoenherr (ST) pinned Mitchell Gore (ATH), 0:37.
Third place: Ryan McKibben (ED) def. Parker Renken (CHQ), 4-1.

News Desk
Author: News Desk

This piece was posted by our news team! Contact us or submit stories at [email protected]