Wisconsin Rapids edges Marshfield for title at 2019 Wisconsin Valley Conference Wrestling Tournament

WAUSAU – Wisconsin Rapids ended Marshfield’s two-year reign as conference champions as it held off the Tigers by 5½ points to win the 2019 Wisconsin Valley Conference Wrestling Tournament on Saturday at Wausau West High School.

Marshfield needed to win the tournament title to share the overall championship with Wisconsin Rapids. Rapids and Marshfield tied in the conference dual meet earlier this season, with Rapids earning the win on criteria as it won eight of the 14 matches.

The Tigers sent nine of their 14 wrestlers into the finals and came away with four individual titles and five runner-up finishes, ended up just short of Rapids for the team title.

For Wisconsin Rapids, it is its seventh conference title in the past 11 years, and first since back-to-back titles in 2015 and 2016. Marshfield had won the previous two championships.

Caden Pearce beat Gabe Carter of D.C. Everest 12-6 in the 152-pound championship match for the Tigers’ first title.

Nolan Hertel won at 160 with a 5-1 win over Carson Trotzer of D.C. Everest; Bentley Schwanebeck-Ostermann pinned Bradley Leiskau of Merrill in 1:57 to win at 182 pounds; and Sam Mitchell defeated Orion Boe of D.C. Everest 6-2 to take the 195-pound championship match for Marshfield.

Schwanebeck-Ostermann finishes his WVC career as a four-time conference tournament champion. Pearce, Hertel and Mitchell repeated as conference champs. All three finished second in 2017.

Keagan Cliver (113), Ryan Dolezal (132), Tanner Kanable (138), Brendan Braund (160), and Sam Haessly (285) all lost in their respective championship matches to finish second for the Tigers.

Cody Weix was fourth at 126, Riley Wilcott finished fifth at 120 and Caden Dennee took fifth at 145 for Marshfield.

Stevens Point earned titles from Justin Groshek at 106 pounds and Karter Stuttgen at 113, while Wisconsin Rapids won three individual titles – Zac Hamel at 138, Wyler Lubeck at 145, and Isaac Diaz at 170.

Marshfield, Stevens Point and Wisconsin Rapids will compete at the WIAA Division 1 regionals next Saturday, Feb. 9, at Merrill.

2019 Wisconsin Valley Conference Wrestling Meet
Feb. 2, at Wausau West High School
Team scores:
1. Wisconsin Rapids 198.5; 2. Marshfield 193; 3. D.C. Everest 191; 4. Stevens Point 158; 5. Wausau West 139; 6. Merrill 136; 7. Wausau East 38.
Final overall team standings (includes points earned from WVC dual meets): 1. Wisconsin Rapids 24; 2. Marshfield 20; 3. D.C. Everest 16; 4. Stevens Point 12; 5. Merrill and Wausau West 6; 7. Wausau East 1.
Championship matches and Marshfield finishers
106 pounds

Championship – Justin Groshek (SP) won major dec. over Preston Spray (WR), 13-2.
113 pounds
Championship – Karter Stuttgen (SP) def. Keagan Cliver (MAR), 7-0.
120 pounds
Championship – Corbin Trotzer (DC) def. Tanner Depies (MER), 5-2; Fifth place – Riley Wilcott (MAR) pinned Mason Jelinski (SP), 2:30.
126 pounds
Championship – Cameron Schmeiser (WW) pinned Cale Benitz (WR), 0:49; Third place – Joe Pecore (SP) won major dec. over Cody Weix (MAR), 12-4.
132 pounds
Championship – Freddy Lehrke (DC) def. Ryan Dolezal (MAR), 7-5.
138 pounds
Championship – Zac Hamel (WR) def. Tanner Kanable (MAR), 4-2.
145 pounds
Championship – Wyler Lubeck (WR) won major dec. over Payton Vaughn (DC), 11-2; Fifth place – Caden Dennee (MAR) pinned Charles Maholmes (WE), 1:02.
152 pounds
Championship – Caden Pearce (MAR) def. Gabe Carter (DC), 12-6.
160 pounds
Championship – Nolan Hertel (MAR) def. Carson Trotzer (DC), 5-1.
170 pounds
Championship – Isaac Diaz (WR) pinned Brendan Braund (MAR), 3:44.
182 pounds
Championship – Bentley Schwanebeck-Ostermann (MAR) pinned Bradley Leiskau (MER), 1:57.
195 pounds
Championship – Sam Mitchell (MAR) def. Orion Boe (DC), 6-2.
220 pounds
Championship – Walker Bathke (MER) def. Jaren Rohde (SP), 6-1; Seventh place – Cameron Hergert (MAR).
285 pounds
Championship – Zach Iribarren (MER) pinned Sam Haessly (MAR), 3:13.

News Desk
Author: News Desk

This piece was posted by our news team! Contact us or submit stories at [email protected]