Wisconsin Coaches Receive 2020-21 NFHS State and Sectional Honors

STEVENS POINT, Wis. – Four Wisconsin coaches were selected as the 2020-21 Sectional Coach of the Year by the National Federation of State High School Associations and 20 were recognized as the State Coach of the Year as identified by their respective coaches’ associations.

Brett Ogorzalek of McFarland, was named the Sectional Boys Soccer Coach of the Year in addition to his state selection. He has led the Spartans to four straight State Tournament appearances, including a State Division 2 championship in the 2020-21 alternate season and runner-up finishes in Division 3 in 2018 and 2019.

Chris Herriot of Arrowhead and Brian Knudtson of Royall were named the NFHS Sectional and State Coaches of the Year in boys and girls track and field, respectively. Herriot led the Warhawks to the Division 1 championship last spring, and Knudtson led the Panthers to the Division 3 crown in Division 3.

In addition, Dave Lindow of East Troy was recognized as the girls tennis Sectional and State Coach of the Year.

Other fall sports coaches recognized by the NFHS as the Wisconsin Coaches of Year by their respective coaches’ associations include Jeff Jurss of Sheboygan Lutheran in boys cross country, Alexa Richardson of Middleton in girls cross country, Corey Berghammer of Cumberland in football, Wayne Schultz of Catholic Central in girls volleyball, and Jenny Heck of Rhinelander in girls swimming and diving.

Winter sports coaches receiving the honor include Nick Bennett formerly of Racine St. Catherine’s in boys basketball, Brandon Siska of Lake Mills in girls basketball, Jacque Bartow of Manitowoc Lincoln in gymnastics, Amit Kaul of Cedarburg in boys swimming and diving, Tony Menard of the Chippewa Falls co-op in girls hockey, John Welsch of St. Mary’s Springs in boys hockey and Michael Kelly of Amery in wrestling.

Spring sports coaches named by their coaches’ association as the State Coach of the Year are Bill Miller of Denmark in baseball, Bob Dubinsky of Whitefish Bay in girls soccer, Jamie Olson of Sun Prairie in softball and Tim Smith of Milwaukee King in boys tennis.

Annually, the NFHS identifies and recognizes a coach from each state for significant achievement in their sport.  State level recipients are considered for NFHS Sectional recognition. National Coaches of the Year are then chosen from the sectional winners.

Award recipients are selected based upon a variety of criteria including their coaching record, background, coaching honors, and involvement in community and school organizations.

Each year, approximately 1000 coaches are recognized at the state level, 168 coaches are recognized at the sectional level and 21 coaches are recognized at the national level.

Wisconsin coaches are members of Section 4, which represents the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, and Wisconsin.

The purpose of the NFHS Coaches Association is to enhance the professional development of all high school sports coaches in order to improve interscholastic athletics in America.

For further information regarding the NFHS please call 317-972-6900 or go to www.nfhs.org.


Know some top athletic performances? Seeing some great teams in action?

We can use your help, and it’s simple.  Witness some great performances? Hear about top athletes and top teams in our area?

Nominate an athlete or team: HERE

Pancakes or Waffles!  We feature top area athletes with our world-renowned feature. Send us your nominations for who you’d like us to interview HERE

Baked or Fried! We also feature difference makers throughout central Wisconsin: coaches, booster club leaders, adminstration, volunteers, you name it. Send us your nominations for who you’d like us to interview HERE

College Athlete Roundup! We want to recognize student-athletes from the area who are competing at the college level. Send us information on college athletes from the area with our simple form HERE

Where are they Now? We feature athletes and difference makers  from the past, standouts in sports who excelled over the years and have moved on. Know of a former athlete, coach or difference maker who we should feature? Know of a former standout competitor whose journey beyond central Wisconsin sports is one we should share? Send us information on athletes and difference makers of the past with our simple form HERE 

We welcome your stories! Contact us at [email protected]!

David Keech
Author: David Keech

David Keech is a math teacher in Wisconsin Rapids and public address announcer for Abbotsord High School. He officiates basketball, baseball, and softball in central Wisconsin. He has reported on amateur sports since 2011, known as 'KeechDaVoice.' David can be reached at [email protected]