WIAA State Championship Football Finals – Preview

The 44th Annual Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Football State Championship Finals will be held Thursday and Friday, Nov. 21-22, at Camp Randall Stadium on the campus of the University of Wisconsin in Madison.


Thursday, Nov. 21
Div. 7 –  Edgar (12-1) vs. Black Hawk/Warren, Ill. (13-0) - 10 a.m.
Div. 6 –  Regis (13-0) vs. St. Mary’s Springs (11-2) – 1 p.m.
Div. 5 –  Stratford (13-0) vs. Lake Country Lutheran (12-1) – 4 p.m.
Div. 4 –  Kiel (13-0) vs. Catholic Memorial (11-2) – 7 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 22
Div. 3 – Menasha (12-1) vs. DeForest (13-0) – 10 a.m.
Div. 2 – Brookfield East (11-2) vs. Waunakee (12-1) – 1 p.m.
Div. 1 – Bay Port (13-0) vs. Muskego (13-0) – 4 p.m.


The championship finals of all seven divisions will be televised live on FS Wisconsin or FS Wisconsin Plus. The Divisions 7 and 6 games Thursday, and the Divisions 3, 2 and 1 games Friday will be on FS Wisconsin.

The Divisions 5 and 4 games Thursday will be on FS Wisconsin Plus. Check local cable listings for the FS Wisconsin and FS Wisconsin Plus channels in your area.

All the games will be available in high definition, and will be streamed live on FoxSportsGo.com

DIVISION 5:  Last year’s runner-up Stratford returns to the championship final for the ninth time. The Tigers had an impressive run of six straight titles in Division 6 from 2003-08. They are the only program to win six straight title games.

Stratford also won the Division 5 crown in 1986, giving them seven championships overall. This season, the Tigers are the champions in the Marawood Conference. They defeated perennial power Amherst in the playoff semifinal, 19-7.

DIVISION 7 NOTES:  The title game features a rematch of sorts of last year’s championship game. While it will be the first State finals appearance for the newly formed Black Hawk/Warren, Ill. co-op program, as a stand-alone program, Black Hawk won the title last season and finished runner-up in 2017. The Warriors had two other experiences prior to the co-op. They recorded a runner-up finish in Division 6 in 1998 and a Division 7 championship in 2013. The Warriors are the champions of the Six Rivers Conference this season. They reached the title game for the first time as a co-op program following a 34-7 win over Lourdes Academy at Level 4.

Edgar Wildcats

Last year’s runner-up Edgar will play in the State title game for the 13th time, which ties for the most appearances in the championship game with  Arrowhead. The Wildcats have won seven championships. They won the Division 7 crown in 2016,  Division 6 championships in 2009 and 2010, Division 5 titles in 1992, 1999 and 2001; and a Division 4 gold trophy in 1979.  In addition, the Wildcats have runner-up finishes in 1991, 1998, 2000, 2008 and again last season. They are the runners-up in the Marawood Conference this fall behind Division 5 qualifier Stratford. The Wildcats defeated Bangor 27-7 at Level 4 to earn the chance at their eighth title.




News Desk
Author: News Desk

This piece was posted by our news team! Contact us or submit stories at [email protected]