WIAA Announces Girls Basketball Tournament Pairings; NEW for 2020-21: ‘Pods’

Madison (OnFocus) – The WIAA High School Basketball Playoffs and State Tournament will look quite different in 2021. With many Milwaukee area and Madison area large schools not competing this year, the WIAA reorganized high school basketball teams within the five division setup that has been in place.

Once the revised divisions were created, teams were divided into ‘pods’ of 5-6 teams. The week before the basketball playoffs begin, teams within each pod will be seeded and brackets created, with higher seeded teams hosting.

Complete Pods Links HERE

Girls’ Tournament Schedule

 Regionals – February 9, February 12 and February 13
Sectional Semi Final – February 18- Sectional Final – February 20
State Tournament February 25-26-27, 2021

Area Teams and pods, by Division

Division 1: Eau Claire Memorial, Eau Claire North, Holmen, Marshfield, La Crosse Central, Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln

Division 1: DC Everest, Appleton North, SPASH, Hortonville, Wausau West

Division 2: Lakeland, Rhinelander, Medford, Merrill, Wausau East, Mosinee

Division 2: Adams-Friendship, Nekoosa, Omro, Wautoma, Westfield, Weyauwega-Fremont

Division 3: Chequamegon, Stanley-Boyd, Colby, Stratford, Neillsville

Division 4: Auburndale, Pacelli, Tri-County, Wild Rose,  Rosholt, Iola-Scandinavia

Division 4: Abbotsford, Cadott, Edgar, Marathon, Spencer, Thorp

Division 5: Athens, Mercer, Newman Catholic, Owen-Withee,  Prentice, Rib Lake

Division 5: Assumption, Columbus Catholic, Granton, Greenwood, Loyal, Port Edwards

We welcome your stories! Contact us at [email protected]!

David Keech
Author: David Keech

David Keech is a math teacher in Wisconsin Rapids and public address announcer for Abbotsord High School. He officiates basketball, baseball, and softball in central Wisconsin. He has reported on amateur sports since 2011, known as 'KeechDaVoice.' David can be reached at [email protected]