Waupun’s Abbie Aalsma Named State’s Top Senior Girls Basketball Shooter

Waupun’s Abbie Aalsma has been selected as the top senior shooter as part of the WSN Senior Basketball Awards.

The NCAA Division I Illinois State signee finished her career with 2,055 points and 348 three-pointers made in her career. Abbie led Waupun to an 84-17 record in her career.

Aalmsa is the 30th girls’ basketball player to score over 2,000 career points and is 23rd on the state’s all-time scoring list.

The finalists for the award were Aaslma, Lily Hansford of Appleton East, Kate Huml of Janesville Craig, Lily Krahn of Prairie du Chien, Mallory Lindsey of Mineral Point, Jordan Meulemans of De Pere, and Jacy Weisbrod of Aquinas.

Read more about Aalsma HERE

Past winners of the award include Maddy Schreiber of Kimberly (2021), Bridget Froehlke of Wrightstown (2020), Shemera Williams of Milwaukee Academy of Science (2019), Shay Frederic of Hortonville (2018), Tori Martell of Somerset (2017), Dani Rhodes of Waukesha West (2016), Natisha Hiedeman of Green Bay Southwest (2015), Lydia Rohde of Brookfield Central (2014), Rachel Atchison of East Troy (2013), and Taylor Varsho of Marshfield (2012).

We welcome your stories! Contact us at [email protected]!

David Keech
Author: David Keech

David Keech is a math teacher in Wisconsin Rapids and public address announcer for Abbotsord High School. He officiates basketball, baseball, and softball in central Wisconsin. He has reported on amateur sports since 2011, known as 'KeechDaVoice.' David can be reached at [email protected]