UW-Marshfield/Wood County Commencement & Awards Ceremony

S. Mark Tyler to Give Keynote Address

The University of Wisconsin-Marshfield/Wood County will hold its annual Commencement & Awards Ceremony Friday, May 19, 6 p.m., in the Helen Connor Laird Theater, 2000 W. 5th St., Marshfield. More than 50 students earned two-year degrees from UW-M/WC during the 2016-17 academic year, and many of these graduates will be participating in the ceremony.

S. Mark Tyler

University of Wisconsin Board of Regent S. Mark Tyler will give the keynote address. He is the founder and president of OEM Fabricators, a contract manufacturer in western Wisconsin that is celebrating its 30th anniversary. OEM was named a Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year in 2006 and in 2012 was the first to be named in the Workforce Development Category.

Tyler also serves on the Wisconsin Technical College System Board, the Governor’s Council on Workforce Investment, Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce, and the Governor’s Early Childhood Advisory Council. He is a graduate of St. Paul TVI in Design Technology and earned his MBA at the University of St Thomas, St. Paul, Minn.

Marsha Bushman, business development officer and sales manager, at PreventionGenetics,

Marsha Bushman

a clinical DNA testing lab in Marshfield, will give the alumni address. She attended UW-Marshfield/Wood County from 1992 to 1994. Before joining PreventionGenetics, Bushman worked at Marshfield Clinic for 15 years, with her most recent role as director of applied sciences. She has been a member of numerous community boards, including Marshfield Area YMCA, Marshfield Area United Way and the Marshfield Sunrise Rotary Club. She has a bachelor’s degree in communication from UW-Stevens Point and an MBA from Lakeland College.

In addition to recognizing the students who have earned their Associates of Arts & Science degrees, the campus will recognize nines students who have completed their Bachelor of Applied Arts and Science degree, which UW Colleges launched in 2012.

The Scholar Athlete, Teaching Excellence and William P. Pors awards also will be announced during the ceremony.

News Desk
Author: News Desk