Stratford’s Draxler, S-B’s Brenner Claim Wrestling Titles; Recap and Results

Stevens Point – The 78th Annual State Individual Wrestling Tournament produced 42 champions Saturday, including the 19th wrestler to win four championships.

There were 23 former champions entering the tournament in pursuit of another title and 19 accomplished their goal. Most notably, Matty Bianchi of Two Rivers became just the 19th wrestler to win four State titles. He won the title in Division 2 at 145 pounds with a 20-1 technical fall at 4:19 to give him a 12-0 record this year. Prior to this season, Bianchi won the 138 title last year, the 132 crown in 2019 and the 113 championship in 2018.

Five wrestlers earned the third championships of their careers. Blaine Brenner of Stanley-Boyd/Owen-Withee won the 132-pound title in Division 2 with a pin at 4:43 in the championship match. He improved his record to 18-0 this season after capturing the 120 title last year and the 106 crown in 2019. Clayton Whiting of Oconto Falls won at 182 this season after his 170 championship last year and the 152 title in 2019. He earned his third title with a pin at 2:27 in the title bout to improve his record to 17-0.

Tanner Gerber of Cameron improved his record this season to 16-0 en route to conquering the Division 3 field at 126. He notched a 7-1 decision in the final to earn the title after winning at 113 in 2020 and at 106 in 2019. Kole Marko of St. Croix Falls also added his third title with a 7-3 decision in the 152 final. He remained undefeated this season with an 18-0 mark. His previous gold medals came at 145 in 2020 and 138 in 2019. Trent Joles of Boyceville won his third championship with a 21-5 technical fall at 5:06 of the title match at 195 to improve his record to 19-0 on the season. He was the 182 champion the past two seasons.

There were four former champions that added a second title in Division 1. Greyson Clark (19-0) of Kaukauna defeated two-time champion Hayden Halter of Waterford in the 126 final with a 13-1 major decision after winning at 106 last year. In another title bout featuring former champions, Jager Eisch of Kaukauna (17-0) defeated two-time champion Nicolar Rivera of Stoughton 5-3 in sudden victory. Eisch earned the title at 126 last season. Mitchell Mesenbrink of Arrowhead (17-0) added a title with a pin at 1:32 in the 152 final after winning at 138 last season. Brooks Empey of Stoughton (13-0) won his second straight title at 220 with a 2-1 decision in the championship bout.

The three wrestlers winning their second title in Division 2 are Rhett Koenig (19-1) with a fall at 4:00 at 113 after winning at 106 last season, Caleb Meunier of Winneconne (18-2) with a 4-0 decision at 126 following a championship at 113 last season, and Braeden Scoles of Kewaskum (16-0) with a 22-7 technical fall at 4:06 at 160 after earning the title at 145 in 2020.

Six wrestlers in Division 3 claimed their second championship, including Brayden Sonnentag of Cadott (19-0) at 120 with a 7-0 decision in the final after winning at 106 last season, Jack Severin of Kewaunee (22-0) at 132 with a 6-3 decision in the championship match after earning the 126 title in Division 2 last year, Gavin Drexler of Stratford (21-0) at 138 with a 15-6 major decision in the title bout following last season’s gold-medal performance at 126, Aiden Vandenbush of Random Lake (21-0) at 160 following an 18-7 major decision in the final after winning at 152 a year ago, Nolan Springer of Mineral Point (14-0) at 170 with a 20-5 technical fall at 4:00 in the championship match after earning the 160 title last year, and Tanner Gaffey of St. Croix Falls (18-0) at 285 with a 7-1 decision in the championship match in defense of the championship he won at the same weight last season.

There were nine programs to claim two individual championships, including Arrowhead, Oshkosh West and West Bend West in Division 1; Amery, Winneconne and Wrightstown in Division 2; and Cadott, St. Croix Falls and Mineral Point in Division 3.

The Division 1 tournament was conducted at Kaukauna High School. The Division 2 championships were held at Adams-Friendship High School, and Division 3 was hosted at Wausau East High School.

The State Team Wrestling Tournament will be held Saturday, Feb. 20 at three locations. The Division 1 tournament will be held at Kaukauna High School, the Division 2 tournament will be held at Adams-Friendship High School with the Division 3 tournament to be conducted at Wausau West High School.

Complete Division 1 Results
Complete Division 2 Results
Complete Division 3 Results

David Keech
Author: David Keech

David Keech is a math teacher in Wisconsin Rapids and public address announcer for Abbotsord High School. He officiates basketball, baseball, and softball in central Wisconsin. He has reported on amateur sports since 2011, known as 'KeechDaVoice.' David can be reached at [email protected]