Spring Election Update

Longtime Alderman Out, New Candidates In

As of 12/18/17, the City of Marshfield officially has two candidates for Mayor. Both Thomas Witzel and Bob McManus filed nomination papers on Monday. A total of five candidates have filed initial paperwork for candidacy, however have yet to turn in the 200 signatures necessary for nomination.

Candidates who have taken out papers, but have not yet filed are:
Rebecca Spiros
Emilee Denman
Adam Wittman

Five districts are up for election in the 2018 spring election: districts 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9.

As of Monday, only one aldermanic candidate has all necessary papers filed for election: Jason Zaleski of District 7.

A surprise to many, longtime District 5 Alderman Ed Wagner filed non-candidacy forms on Monday. Mayor Chris Meyer also filed non-candidacy forms late last month.

Aldermen Mike Feirer, Chris Jockheck and Tom Buttke have until December 22nd at 5:00 pm to file notification of non-candidacy with the City Clerk.

Any citizen of Marshfield has until January 2nd at 5:00 pm to file nomination papers, declaration of candidacy, and campaign registration statement for the Spring Election. For questions about running for a City office, please contact City Clerk Deb Hall. Find your voting district here.

How to Run for Mayor in the City of Marshfield


News Desk
Author: News Desk