Spencer pitcher Tiffany Meinders named Cloverbelt Conference East Division Softball Player of the Year

Spencer pitcher Tiffany Meinders was named the Cloverbelt Conference East Division Softball Player of the Year the 2019 season. (Photo by Paul Lecker/MarshfieldAreaSports.com)
Columbus Catholic senior Maren Seefluth, sliding, was one of four Dons to earn honors on the 2019 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Softball Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/MarshfieldAreaSports.com)

By Paul Lecker

Spencer senior Tiffany Meinders earned Player of the Year honors, and two other Rockets and four Columbus Catholic players earned accolades on the 2019 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Softball Team, as voted on by the eight conference coaches following the season.

Meinders, Spencer’s top pitcher, went 7-9 overall with a 3.69 earned-run average. She struck out 159 in 117 1/3 innings and also hit .354 (23-for-65) with five doubles, a home run, 11 RBIs and 17 runs scored. Spencer finished 8-13 overall and 6-8 in the Cloverbelt East, which was good enough for fifth place in the final standings.

Brooke Neider hit a team-best .509 (29-for-57) with six doubles, three home runs, 28 RBIs and 19 runs scored for Columbus Catholic, who finished 5-9 and in sixth place in the Cloverbelt East standings (6-12 overall).

Annie Baierl, the Dons’ main catcher, batted .302 (16-for-53) with 10 RBIs, 11 runs scored and a team-high nine walks.

Seefluth, a senior shortstop, hit .422 (27-for-64) for Columbus Catholic with seven doubles, one home run, nine RBIs and a team-high 27 runs scored.

Addison Baierl, the Dons’ main pitcher, threw 103 2/3 innings, finishing with a 6-12 record and a 4.05 earned-run average. She struck out 75. She also hit .339 (20-for-59) with 16 RBIs, 13 runs, five doubles and three triples.

Neitzel led Spencer in batting with a .361 average (22-for-61) with 18 RBIs and 13 runs scored, and Schuh hit .308 (15-for-65) with a team-best 20 runs scored and five RBIs for the Rockets.

Conference champion Gilman landed three players on the first team – juniors Grace Grunseth, Montana Birkenholz and Jaiden Sedivy.

Greenwood juniors Amanda Bogdonovich and Lexi Oestreich, Loyal sophomore Kayla Bremmer, and Neillsville’s Sam Cappadora and Elle Moseid round out he first-team selections.

2019 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Softball Team
First team:
Brooke Neider, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Grace Grunseth, jr., Gilman; Montana Birkenholz, jr., Gilman; Jaiden Sedivy, jr., Gilman; Amanda Bogdonovich, jr., Greenwood; Lexi Oestreich, jr., Greenwood; Kayla Bremmer, so., Loyal; Elle Moseid, jr., Neillsville; Sam Cappadora, sr., Neillsville; Tiffany Meinders, sr., Spencer.
Second team: Vanessa Lopez, sr., Colby/Abbotsford; Annie Baierl, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Maren Seefluth, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Amanda Wisocky, sr., Gilman; Katie Webster, jr., Gilman; Ashtyn Schmitz, sr., Greenwood; Emily Goobrand, sr., Loyal; Remi Geiger, sr., Loyal; Kaitlyn Lindner, so., Loyal; Bella Opelt, so., Neillsville.
Honorable mention: Addison Baierl, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Lexi Chaplinski, jr., Gilman; Mykell Podolak, sr., Gilman; Abby Kirchner, sr., Greenwood; Maddi Raese, jr., Greenwood; Terren Stockheimer, so., Neillsville; Sam LaRock, jr., Owen-Withee; Jasmine Stock, jr., Owen-Withee; Shaelee Neitzel, sr., Spencer; Aryiah Schuh, jr., Spencer.
Player of the Year: Tiffany Meinders, Spencer.

News Desk
Author: News Desk

This piece was posted by our news team! Contact us or submit stories at [email protected]