Spencer/Columbus wins four individual titles, Stanley-Boyd/Owen-Withee takes team championship at Cloverbelt Conference Wrestling Tournament

SPENCER – Spencer/Columbus had a conference-best four individual champions and finished fourth in the team standings at the 2019 Cloverbelt Conference Wrestling Tournament on Saturday at Spencer High School.

Junior Ashton Ackman and senior Logan Zschernitz each won their third-straight conference title for the Rockets, who ended up with 154.5 points, 21.5 behind third-place Cadott.

Stanley-Boyd/Owen-Withee won the team title with 208.5 points, with Abbotsford/Colby second with 182.5.

Ackman (33-5) won by major decision over Kaleb Sonnentag of Cadott 10-2 to capture the 120-pound title for Spencer/Columbus.

Zschernitz remained unbeaten this season, going to 36-0, as he pinned Sean Hassamer of Stanley-Boyd/Owen-Withee in 52 seconds to win the 285-pound championship.

Freshman Treyton Ackman (31-6) won the 113-pound title for the Rockets, beating Sasha Nitz of Stanley-Boyd/Owen Withee by technical fall, 16-0, in the finals.

Spencer/Columbus’ final title came from junior Leonardo Rodriguez (19-11), who won the 126-pound title with a pin of Dustin Bergman of Stanley-Boyd/Owen-Withee in 2:50 in the championship match.

Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal finished fifth with 152 points.

Stephen Buchanan won the only individual title for NGL, pinning Gavin Tegels of Cadott in 2:40 to take the 195-pound championship. Buchanan is now 38-0 this season.

Abbotsford/Colby won three individual titles.

Mason Wellman took first at 138, pinning Xander Hinker of Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal in 1:14 in the championship match for the Falcons.

Chance Clement pinned Payton Kostka of Eau Claire Regis/Altoona in 3:38 to take the 152-pound title, and Carter Grewe defeated Tyler Krizan of Stanley-Boyd/Owen-Withee 7-0 to win the 220-pound championship for Abbotsford/Colby.

Abbotsford/Colby, Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal, and Spencer/Columbus will compete at the WIAA Division 2 regional on Feb. 9 at Black River Falls.

2019 Cloverbelt Conference Wrestling Tournament
Team scores:
1. Stanley-Boyd/Owen-Withee 208.5; 2. Abbotsford/Colby 182.5; 3. Cadott 176; 4. Spencer/Columbus Catholic 154.5; 5. Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal 152; 6. Osseo-Fairchild/Augusta/Fall Creek 78; 7. Eau Claire Regis/Altoona 56; 8. Thorp 22.
Championship and Spencer/Columbus finishes
106 pounds

Championship – Blaine Brenner (SBOW) pinned River Halopka (AC), 1:34.
113 pounds
Championship – Treyton Ackman (SC) won by technical fall over Sasha Nitz (SBOW), 16-1.
120 pounds
Championship – Ashton Ackman (SC) won by major dec. over Kaleb Sonnentag (CAD), 10-2.
126 pounds
Championship – Leonardo Rodriguez (SC) pinned Dustin Bergman (SBOW), 2:50.
132 pounds
Championship – Russell Dorn (SBOW) def. Tyler Srp (ERA), injury default, 5:00; Third place – Kyler Rakovec (NGL) pinned Jacob Dick (SC), 6:20.
138 pounds
Championship – Mason Wellman (AC) pinned Xander Hinker (NGL), 1:14; Third place – Joey McDermond (SBOW) pinned Andres Rodriguez (SC), 2:20.
145 pounds
Championship – Nelson Wahl (CAD) pinned Logan Ruesch (AC), 3:42.
152 pounds
Championship – Chance Clement (AC) pinned Payton Kostka (ERA), 3:38.
160 pounds
Championship – Brady Spaeth (CAD) pinned Carson Hildebrandt (SC), 1:46.
170 pounds
Championship – James Pfeiffer (CAD) pinned Joseph Aguilera (AC), 5:24; Fifth place – Sayer Rachu (NGL) def. Tanner Kleinschmidt (SC), 9-7.
182 pounds
Championship – Bret Kostka (OFAFC) def. Ethan Tegels (CAD), 11-07; Fifth place – Evan Meeker (SBOW) pinned Connor Luedtke (SC), 3:43.
195 pounds
Championship – Stephen Buchanan (NGL) pinned Gavin Tegels (CAD), 2:40; Third place – Daniel Richmond (SC) pinned Bo Prudlick (OFAFC), 1:17.
220 pounds
Championship – Carter Grewe (AC) def. Tyler Krizan (SBOW), 7-0.
285 pounds
Championship – Logan Zschernitz (SC) pinned Sean Hassamer (SBOW), 0:52.