SPASH Grad and Marquette/Virginia Standout Sam Hauser Named to Julius Erving Award Preseason Watch List

The Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award is an annual basketball award given by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame to the top men’s collegiate small forward.

Former SPASH star and Marquette star Sam Hauser, now in his senior season at the University of Virginia, has been named on  the Erving Award preseason watch list.

As shared by

Julius Erving could jump, run, shoot, score, dunk, play defense, rebound, and fill arena seats everywhere he played. He attended the University of Massachusetts and averaged 26.3 points and 20.2 rebounds per game, making him one of only six NCAA men’s basketball players to average more than 20 points and 20 rebounds per game. After two seasons, Erving made the jump to the American Basketball Association and was the league’s most recognizable player when it merged with the National Basketball Association in 1976.

“Dr. J’s” game of in-your-face hoops appealed to everyone and he made the game cool to play and to watch. During his sixteen scintillating seasons in both the ABA and NBA, Erving redefined the forward position. Flamboyant and artistic — opponents knew where Dr. J was zooming, but few could stop his offensive assault. Playing above the rim, Erving popularized being airborne. His style and grace both on and off the court led many to call him an American treasure. A two-time ABA MVP, Erving led the New York Nets to two ABA championships. In 1976, Erving moved to the NBA and became a Philadelphia 76er. In 1983, he led the 76ers to the NBA championship. His unique athleticism coupled with his star power made Dr. J a household name worldwide.

20212021 Erving Award PRESEASON WATCH LIST

Derrick Alston Jr. Boise State
Jalen Johnson Duke
Wendell Moore Duke
Jayden Gardner East Carolina
Keyontae Johnson Florida
Corey Kispert Gonzaga
Brandon Boston Jr. Kentucky
D.J. Jeffries Memphis
Aaron Wiggins Maryland
Isaiah Livers Michigan
Aaron Henry Michigan State
Ron Harper Jr. Rutgers
Matt Mitchell San Diego State
Ziaire Williams Stanford
Yves Pons Tennessee
Terrence Shannon Jr. Texas Tech
Chris Smith UCLA
Timmy Allen Utah
Jermaine Samuels Villanova
Sam Hauser Virginia


We welcome your stories! Contact us at [email protected]!

David Keech
Author: David Keech

David Keech is a math teacher in Wisconsin Rapids and public address announcer for Abbotsord High School. He officiates basketball, baseball, and softball in central Wisconsin. He has reported on amateur sports since 2011, known as 'KeechDaVoice.' David can be reached at [email protected]