MLB Hall of Fame Ballot Includes 11 Newcomers, 14 Holdovers

The Major League Baseball Hall of Fame has announced 25 finalists that are on the 2021 Hall of Fame ballot, including 11 first time players.

14 returning players are on the ballot, highlighted by Curt Schilling, Barry Bonds, and Roger Clemens.

Players must be selected on at least 75% of the submitted ballots in order to earn HOF status. This year, the Hall of Fame will honor the 2020 class also, which was postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic. The 2020 class features Derek Jeter, Larry Walker, Ted Simmons, and Marvin Miller.

Ballots from the Baseball Writer’s Association of America are due December 31.

Complete background on HOF candidates HERE

 First Year Candidates

Mark Buehrle, A.J. Burnett, Michael Cuddyer, Dan Haren, LaTroy Hawkins, Tim Hudson, Torii Hunter, Aramis Ramirez, Nick Swisher, Shane Victorino and Barry Zito.

Returning Candidates

NAME, YEAR ON BALLOT (2020 vote total, percentage)

Curt Schilling, 9th (278, 70.0%)
Roger Clemens, 9th (242, 61.0%)
Barry Bonds, 9th (241, 60.7%)
Omar Vizquel, 4th (209, 52.6%)
Scott Rolen, 4th (140, 35.3%)
Billy Wagner, 6th (126, 31.7%)
Gary Sheffield, 7th (121, 30.5%)
Todd Helton, 3rd (116, 29.2%)
Manny Ramirez, 5th (112, 28.2%)
Jeff Kent, 8th (109, 27.5%)
Andruw Jones, 4th (77, 19.4%)
Sammy Sosa, 9th (55, 13.9%)
Andy Pettitte, 3rd (45, 11.3%)
Bobby Abreu, 2nd (22, 5.5%)

We welcome your stories! Contact us at [email protected]!

David Keech
Author: David Keech

David Keech is a math teacher in Wisconsin Rapids and public address announcer for Abbotsord High School. He officiates basketball, baseball, and softball in central Wisconsin. He has reported on amateur sports since 2011, known as 'KeechDaVoice.' David can be reached at [email protected]