MLB Announces Blue Jays’ Vlad Guerrero Jr. and Phillies’ Bryce Harper Named Hank Aaron Award Winners

The 2021 Hank Aaron Award winners were announced Tuesday on MLB Network, with Blue Jays first baseman Vladimir Guerrero Jr. taking American League honors and Phillies right fielder Bryce Harper winning in the National League.

Awarded annually to the best overall offensive performer in both leagues, the award was introduced in 1999 to mark the 25th anniversary of Hank Aaron breaking Babe Ruth’s all-time home run record. A panel of Hall of Famers determines the winners along with a fan vote.

“I think this is the greatest thrill of my life.” That’s how the legendary Hank Aaron described the award named after him when he appeared on MLB Network last December.

The following month, Aaron passed away at the age of 86. And so, the prestigious Hank Aaron Award, established in 1999 and given annually to the best offensive performer in each league, takes on added significance this year.

• All-time Hank Aaron Award winners

We welcome your stories! Contact us at [email protected]!

David Keech
Author: David Keech

David Keech is a math teacher in Wisconsin Rapids and public address announcer for Abbotsord High School. He officiates basketball, baseball, and softball in central Wisconsin. He has reported on amateur sports since 2011, known as 'KeechDaVoice.' David can be reached at [email protected]