Medford wins team title, Spencer/Columbus earns six sectional spots at WIAA Division 2 Black River Falls Wrestling Regional

The Spencer/Columbus Catholic wrestling team finished third at the WIAA Division 2 regional on Saturday at Black River Falls High School. Treyton Ackman, Logan Zschernitz, and Ashton Ackman (holding bracket posters) were reigonal champions for the Rockets. (Submitted photo)

BLACK RIVER FALLS – Spencer/Columbus Catholic had three champions and three runner-ups to move on to sectionals after finished third in the team standings at the WIAA Division 2 Black River Falls Regional on Saturday.

Medford won the regional title and will take part in the Division 2 team sectional Tuesday at Osceola. Medford will take on Ellsworth and Spooner/Webster will face Osceola in semifinal duals. The winners will meet for a berth in the WIAA Team State Wrestling Tournament on March 1-2 in Madison.

The top two individuals at the regional qualified for the individual sectional which will be Feb. 16 at Neillsville. The top three finishers in each weight class at the sectional will qualify for the 2019 WIAA State Individual Wrestling Tournament at the Kohl Center in Madison on Feb. 21-23.

Freshman Treyton Ackman, junior Ashton Ackman and senior Logan Zschernitz won regional titles for the Rockets, and will move on to the sectional along with runner-up finishers Leonardo Rodriguez, Jacob Dick and Carson Hildebrandt.

Treyton Ackman (36-6) pinned Sasha Nitz of Stanley-Boyd/Owen-Withee in 3:49 to take the 113-pound championship for Spencer/Columbus.

Ashton Ackman (37-5) also earned a pin to win the 120-pound title, beating Ruben Sanchez of Stanley-Boyd/Owen-WIthee in 2:54.

Zschernitz remains undefeated this season, improving to 40-0, after pinning Sean Hassemer of Stanley-Boyd/Owen-Withee in 48 seconds to capture the 285-pound title.

Rodriguez (22-12) and Hildebrandt (33-8) survived wrestlebacks at 126 and 160 pounds, respectively, to finish second. Dick (19-15) lost his 132-pound final to Medford’s Dane Higgins 9-0 to also finish second and earn a spot in the sectionals.

Medford will send eight to individual sectionals, including six regional champions.

In addition to Higgins, Eric Rehbein (18-13 at 126), Andy Poetzl (36-10 at 138), Zeke Sigmund (24-4 at 145), Emett Grunwald (26-13 at 152), and Jake Rau (28-0 at 220) won title for the Raiders.

Clay Bowe (18-11) finished second at 170 and Hayden Johnson (15-17) was second at 182, also earning sectional spots.

Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal had three regional champions that will move on to sectionals.

Stephen Buchanan continued his undefeated season, rolling to the 195-pound title to improve to 42-0. Nathan Buchanan (33-12) won the 160-pound title and Tanner Zschernitz (33-12) was the champion at 182 pounds.

Abbotsford/Colby will send five to sectionals, including 170-pound champion Joseph Aguilera (29-5).

Logan Ruesch (33-7 at 145), River Halopka (33-6 at 106), Chance Clement (31-9 at 152) and Carter Grewe (32-4 at 220) all earned runner-up finishes and sectional spots for the Falcons.

WIAA Division 2 Wrestling Regional
Feb. 9, at Black River Falls High School
Team scores:
1. Medford 245; 2. Stanley-Boyd/Owen-Withee 200; 3. Spencer/Columbus Catholic 163; 4. Abbotsford/Colby 157; 5. Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal 156; 6. Black River Falls/Lincoln 58.
Top two qualify for individual sectional Feb. 16 at Neillsville
106 pounds

Championship: Blaine Brenner (SBOW) pinned River Halopka (AC), 1:05.
113 pounds
Championship: Treyton Ackman (SC) pinned Sasha Nitz (SBOW), 3:49.
120 pounds
Championship: Ashton Ackman (SC) pinned Ruben Sanchez (SBOW), 2:54.
Second-place wrestleback: Sanchez (SBOW) def. Eli Mahner (MED), 4-0.
126 pounds
Championship: Eric Rehbein (MED) def. Leonardo Rodriguez (SC), 2-1.
Second-place wrestleback: Rodriguez (SC) def. Dustin Bergman (SBOW), 7-2.
132 pounds
Championship: Dane Higgins (MED) won major dec. over Jacob Dick (SC), 9-0.
138 pounds
Championship: Andy Poetzl (MED) won major dec. over Russell Dorn (SBOW), 8-0.
145 pounds
Championship: Zeke Sigmund (MED) def. Logan Ruesch (AC), 3-2.
152 pounds
Championship: Emett Grunwald (MED) def. Chance Clement (AC), 3-1 (OT).
Second-place wrestleback: Clement (AC) def. Tommy Friemoth (NGL), 9-2.
160 pounds
Championship: Nathan Buchanan (NGL) def. Carson Hildebrandt (SC), 6-2.
Second-place wrestleback: Hildebrandt (SC) won technical fall over Cody Church (MED), 19-4.
170 pounds
Championship: Joseph Aguilera (AC) won major dec. over Preston Potaczek (SBOW), 1-0.
Second-place wrestleback: Clay Bowe (MED) pinned Potaczek (SBOW), 1:45.
182 pounds
Championship: Tanner Zschernitz (NGL) pinned Hayden Johnson (MED), 3:16.
Second-place wrestleback: Johnson (MED) pinned Matt Brown (SBOW), 3:47.
195 pounds
Championship: Stephen Buchanan (NGL) pinned Sean Johnson (BRF), 1:26.
220 pounds
Championship: Jake Rau (MED) def. Carter Grewe (AC), 7-3.
285 pounds
Championship: Logan Zschernitz (SC) pinned Sean Hassemer (SBOW), 0:48.

News Desk
Author: News Desk

This piece was posted by our news team! Contact us or submit stories at [email protected]