Marshfield’s Hashimoto, Paape land on first team of 2019 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Soccer Team

Marshfield junior forward Nina Hashimoto was a unanimous first-team selection to the 2019 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Soccer Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/

By Paul Lecker
For OnFocus

Marshfield juniors Nina Hashimoto and Ana Paape have been named to the first team of the 2019 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Soccer Team, which was voted on by the seven conference coaches following the season.

Hashimoto, a unanimous first-team selection, finished second in the Wisconsin Valley Conference in goals with 20 and tied for second in total points with 43 (including three assists), as she led the Tigers offensively.

Overall, Hashimoto set a new single-season scoring record for Marshfield with 38 goals and 84 total points (including eight assists) as the Tigers reached the WIAA state tournament for the first time in school history.

Paape was regarded as Marshfield’s top defender as the Tigers finished fourth in goals allowed in the conference with 25 and in the season standings at 6-4-2.

Marshfield goalkeeper Mikayla Brueggen, sophomore forward Kate Schilling, and midfielders Nicole Simon and Paige Preston were honorable mention selections for the Tigers.

Schilling was second on Marshfield in scoring with three goals and two assists in WVC play. Simon had one goal and three assists, Preston had one goal and two assists, and Brueggen allowed 2.08 goals per game for Marshfield during the conference season.

Wisconsin Rapids senior goalkeeper Miranda Nieman was named WVC Player of the Year after allowing just eight goals in 11 games with an 88.4 save percentage. Senior defender Kailea Ott also was a first-team pick for the Raiders.

Stevens Point had three first-team selections – senior forward Lauren Johnson, senior midfielder Abby Gemza, and senior defender Sierra Hefferan.

2019 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Soccer Team
First Team
*Miranda Nieman, sr., Wisconsin Rapids.
Forwards: *Maddie Simpson, jr., D.C. Everest; *Nina Hashimoto, jr., Marshfield; *Abby Thompson, so., Wausau East; Lauren Johnson, sr., Stevens Point.
Midfielders: *Alanna Schneck, jr., D.C. Everest; *Abby Gemza, sr., Stevens Point; Meghan Heil, sr., D.C. Everest; Emma Dehnel, jr., Wausau East.
Defenders: *Jordyn Langbehn, jr., D.C. Everest; *Kailea Ott, sr., Wisconsin Rapids; Ana Paape, jr., Marshfield; Sierra Hefferan, sr., Stevens Point.
Second Team
Kaylee Bowe, sr., Merrill.
Forward: Ashley Abbott, fr., Wisconsin Rapids.
Midfielders: Caroline Narel, jr., Wisconsin Rapids; Lily Kowal, jr., D.C. Everest.
Defenders: Keta Oettinger, sr., D.C. Everest; Madisyn Rogan, sr., Stevens Point; Rachel Burns, jr., D.C. Everest; Ally Tabor, sr., Merrill; Dakota Corallo, sr., D.C. Everest.
Honorable Mention
Mikayla Brueggen, jr., Marshfield.
Forwards: Mallory Names, jr., Wausau West; Kate Schilling, so., Marshfield.
Midfielders: Nicole Simon, sr., Marshfield; Paige Preston, jr., Marshfield; Lauren Langbehn, jr., D.C. Everest; Hailey Rehman, so., Stevens Point.
Defenders: Julia Moder, sr., Stevens Point; Malena Tonelli, sr., Wausau West; Lily Messman, fr., Wausau East; Madeleine Bizjak, jr., Wausau West; Erin Bennett, sr., Wausau East.
Player of the Year: Miranda Nieman, Wisconsin Rapids.

Paul Lecker is publisher of, a contributor to OnFocus sports.

News Desk
Author: News Desk

This piece was posted by our news team! Contact us or submit stories at [email protected]