Marshfield wins opener, falls in semifinals at 2019 WIAA State Team Wrestling Tournament

MADISON – The Marshfield wrestling team earned a big victory in the Division 1 quarterfinals, but couldn’t get past Mukwonago and lost in the semifinals on Friday night at the 2019 WIAA State Team Wrestling Tournament at the University of Wisconsin Fieldhouse, ending its season one match short of the state finals.

Marshfield beat Burlington 39-26 in the quarterfinals behind the strength of four pins, before falling to Mukwonago 44-17 in the semifinals.

Mukwonago will wrestle defending Division 1 state champion Stoughton for the title at 3 p.m. Saturday.

Tanner Kanable (138 pounds), Caden Pearce (145) and Nolan Hertel (152) each won early in the match for the Tigers against Burlington, but they trailed 14-9 after six matches.

Seniors Bentley Schwanebeck-Ostermann put Marshfield in the lead with a pin at 182 pounds, and individual state champion Sam Mitchell followed with a pin in 1:07.

After Burlington pulled back ahead by a pin, Marshfield won three of the final four matches to earn the win.

Freshmen Sirius Conrad had a pin at 106 pounds and Keagen Cliver followed with a win by injury default to clinch the victory for the Tigers. Gabe Pugh finished off the match with a pin in 2:57 at 126 pounds.

Marshfield managed just four wins against Mukwaongo, all coming from seniors that were part of the nine Tigers that participated at the individual state meet last week.

Pearce (145) won 11-5 and Hertel followed with a 21-9 major decision at 160 pounds to give Marshfield an early 7-6 lead.

After a Mukwonago pin, Schwanebeck-Ostermann won by pin in 1:32 and Mitchell won by major decision 14-5, giving the Tigers a 16-12 lead.

But that would be it for Marshfield as Mukwonago won the final seven matches, one by pin, one by tech fall and three by major decision.

Mitchell finishes the season 48-1, Schwanebeck-Ostermann 49-2, and Hertel 46-4 for the Tigers.

Division 1 quarterfinals
Marshfield 39, Burlington 26

132: Zach Weiler (BUR) won major dec. over Ryan Dolezal, 13-3.
138: Tanner Kanable (MAR) def. Ben Kumprey, 7-1.
145: Caden Pearce (MAR) def. Cody Welker, 9-5.
152: Nolan Hertel (MAR) def. Max Ehlen, 8-4.
160: Jake Skrundz (BUR) pinned Branden Braund, 0:51.
170: Qwade Gehring (BUR) won major dec. over Bradley Hendrickson, 18-5.
182: Bentley Schwanebeck-Ostermann (MAR) pinned Zach Wallace, 3:10.
195: Sam Mitchell (MAR) pinned John Kubiak, 1:07.
220: Brian Konz (BUR) won by forfeit.
285: Wyatt Hayes (BUR) def. Sam Haessly, 3-1 (SV).
106: Sirius Conrad (MAR) pinned Ty Kiesler, 3:49.
113: Keagan Cliver (MAR) def. Jaden Bird, injury default.
120: Grant Koenen (BUR) def. Shane Westerhausen, 10-6.
126: Gabe Pugh (MAR) pinned Ben Stevenson, 2:57.

Division 1 semifinals
Mukwonago 44, Marshfield 17

138: Lucas Benn (MUK) def. Ryan Dolezal, 6-1.
145: Nate Stokhaug (MUK) def. Tanner Kanable, 12-8.
152: Caden Pearce (MAR) def. Cole Hansen, 11-5.
160: Nolan Hertel (MAR) won major dec. over Luke Stromberg, 21-9.
170: Aaron Schmitz (MUK) pinned Bradley Hendrickson, 3:33.
182: Bentley Schwanebeck-Ostermann (MAR) pinned Ryan Krimpelbein, 1:32.
195: Sam Mitchell (MAR) won major dec. over Justin Eichler, 14-5.
220: Caleb Willmann (MUK) won by forfeit.
285: Tyler Pitcel (MUK) pinned Sam Haessly, 2:43.
106: Cody Goebel (MUK) won major dec. over Sirius Conrad, 11-0.
113: Tyler Goebel (MUK) won by technical fall over Keagan Cliver, 15-0.
120: Jake Wisinski (MUK) won by major dec. over Shane Westerhausen, 9-0.
126: Luke Eliszewski (MUK) won major dec. over Caden Dennee, 12-4.
132: Josiah Lynden (MUK) def. Gabe Pugh, 12-5.

News Desk
Author: News Desk

This piece was posted by our news team! Contact us or submit stories at [email protected]