Marshfield lands two on first team, six overall, on 2018 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Soccer Team

Marshfield senior Kade McManus was one of two Tigers selected to the first team of the 2018 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Soccer Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/

By Paul Lecker

Marshfield had two first-team selections and four others named to the 2018 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Soccer Team, which was voted on by the seven conference coaches following the season.

Senior midfielder Kade McManus and junior forward Kyle Tremelling were the two Tigers named to the 11-player first team.

McManus finished with eight goals and four assists to lead the Tigers in scoring during the conference season. Tremelling had seven goals and one assist as well for Marshfield, which finished in second place in the WVC standings with a 6-3-3 record and ended up 11-7-3 overall.

“Kade switched to target forward halfway through season and had great scoring ability, with many big goals for us throughout the season,” Marshfield coach Steve McCann said. “He has excellent touch on the ball. Once Kade has the ball, it is hard to knock him off.

“Kyle works hard up the middle or on corner runs. He scored multiple goals off his head this year. He was a great weapon up top for us. Having him and Kade and in combination with our other wingers gave us different looks and led our potent offense this year.”

Senior defender Dawson Tysver was a second-team selection for Marshfield, and the Tigers had three honorable mention choices in senior midfielders Kevin Cassidy and Isaac Wellens, and sophomore forward Sam Roherty.

“Dawson is a second-year player for us who played central defense,” McCann said. “He has great speed and plays fast and fearless.”

Senior midfielder Ricky Perez of conference champion Stevens Point was among the six unanimous first-team selections and was named the Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Soccer Player of the Year. He finished third in the conference in points with 26, with a WVC-best six assists and 10 goals, which tied for the third most.

2018 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Soccer Team
First Team (*denotes unanimous selection)
Spencer Banks, so., Stevens Point.
Forwards: *Tamirat Knutson, jr., D.C. Everest; *Ethan Kane, sr., Stevens Point; Kyle Tremelling, jr., Marshfield; Oliver Hayes, jr., Wisconsin Rapids.
Midfielders: *Ricky Perez, sr., Stevens Point; *Blake Milkowski, sr., Stevens Point; *Ryan Keefe, so., Wausau East; Kade McManus, sr., Marshfield.
Defenders: *Keegan Pulchinski, sr., Wisconsin Rapids; Jordan Durr, sr., Wausau West.
Second Team
Noah Knezic, jr., Wausau West.
Forward: Luke Bailey, sr., Wausau West.
Midfielders: Zidane Charles, jr., Wausau East; A.J. Metcalf, jr., Wisconsin Rapids; Yia Yang, sr., Stevens Point; Ethan Cattanach, so., Wausau West; Hunter Wallace, sr., Merrill; Ethan Stashek, sr., D.C. Everest
Defenders: Brendan Leahy, sr., Stevens Point; Andrew Marquardt, sr., D.C. Everest; Dawson Tysver, sr., Marshfield.
Honorable Mention
Ty Tretter, sr., D.C. Everest; Mason Gebert, sr., Merrill.
Forwards: Isaias Escalara, so., Wisconsin Rapids; Spencer Sparks, sr., Wisconsin Rapids; Kole Brecke, sr., D.C. Everest; Sam Roherty, so., Marshfield.
Midfielders: Kevin Cassidy, sr., Marshfield; Jordan Thao, sr., D.C. Everest; Kyle Durr, jr., Wausau West; Isaac Wellens, sr., Marshfield; Isaac Williams, jr., Stevens Point; Tannen Taylor, sr., Wausau East; Joey Ter Maat, so., Wisconsin Rapids.
Defenders: Jared Winters, sr., Wisconsin Rapids; Will Clancy, jr., Wausau West.
Player of the Year: Ricky Perez, Stevens Point.

Paul Lecker is publisher of and a contributor to

News Desk
Author: News Desk

This piece was posted by our news team! Contact us or submit stories at [email protected]