Marshfield finishes third at Wisconsin Rapids Boys Golf Quad

WISCONSIN RAPIDS – The Marshfield boys golf team placed third at the Wisconsin Rapids Quadrangular meet on Tuesday at the Ridges Golf Course.

In a tight finish, D.C. Everest emerged as the team champion with a score of 349, two shots ahead of second-place Stevens Point and four strokes in front of Marshfield. Wisconsin Rapids was a distant fourth with a 377.

Spencer Sparks of Wisconsin Rapids won individual medalist honors with a 78, three shots better than Stevens Point’s Evan Thomas.

Freshman Davis Rens led Marshfield with an 86 and a fifth-place finish. Jackson Bulgrin finished 10th with an 87, Nate Boson was 11th with an 89, Ben Baur added a 91 and Cole Hanson shot a 102 for the Tigers.

The Marshfield JV team also finished third. D.C. Everest won the JV team title with a 369, Stevens Point had a 379, and Marshfield a 386.

Dustin Copa of D.C. Everest and Ethan Thomas of Stevens Point tied for first in the JV competition with 88s.

Marshfield’s top finisher was Josh Gruen, who shot a 92 and took fifth place.

Marshfield is scheduled to play at the Adams-Friendship Invitational at Sand Valley Golf Resort in Nekoosa.

Wisconsin Rapids Quad
April 9, at Ridges Golf Course
Team scores:
1. D.C. Everest 349; 2. Stevens Point 351; 3. Marshfield 353; 4. Wisconsin Rapids 377.
Top 10 and Marshfield finishers: 1. Spencer Sparks (WR) 78; 2. Evan Thomas (SP) 81; 3. Myles Auclair (WR) and Ben Peloquin (DC) 84; 5. Davis Rens (MAR) 86, Logan Pechinski (SP), Nolan Blair (SP), Sam Hagedorn (DC) and Jack Denk (DC) 86; 10. Jackson Bulgrin (MAR) 87; 11. Nate Boson (MAR) 89; 13. Ben Baur (MAR) 91; 17. Cole Hanson (MAR) 102.
Team scores:
1. D.C. Everest 369; 2. Stevens Point 379; 3. Marshfield 386; 4. Wisconsin Rapids 432.
Top 10 and Marshfield finishers: 1. Dustin Copa (DC) 88 and Ethan Thomas (SP) 88; 3. Marcus Prowdzinski (SP) and Charlie Strasser (DC) 91; 5. Josh Gruen (MAR) 92; 6. Chad Rockteschel (DC) 93; 7. Caden Machtan (MAR) 94; 8. Caleb Klueckman (DC) 97; 9. Ian Haugen (MAR) 99; 10. A.J. Earnest (SP) and Max Sommers (SP) 100; 12. Ben Lawyer (MAR) 101; 13. Jeffery Berres (MAR) 104.

News Desk
Author: News Desk

This piece was posted by our news team! Contact us or submit stories at [email protected]