Columbus Catholic’s Torbey named Central Wisconsin Conference Soccer Player of the Year, eight others also earn all-conference recognition

Columbus Catholic senior Nadim Torbey was named the Central Wisconsin Conference Soccer Player of the Year after scoring 34 goals this season. (Photo by Paul Lecker/
Columbus Catholic senior goalkeeper Kellen Heinzen was one of six Dons selected to the first team of the 2018 All-Central Wisconsin Conference Soccer Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/

By Paul Lecker

Champion Marshfield Columbus Catholic had six players named to the first team and three others who earned honors on the 2018 All-Central Wisconsin Conference Soccer Team, as voted on by the coaches following the season.

Dons’ senior Nadim Torbey was a unanimous first-team selection and was named CWC Player of Year after completing a remarkable career.

Torbey finished the season with 34 goals and 16 assists, and ends his four-year career with a school-record 122 goals, which according to the Wisconsin Soccer Coaches’ Association record book, is fourth all-time in state history. His 287 total points is also a school record and places him sixth on the all-time state list.

Senior goalkeeper Kellen Heinzen also was a unanimous first-team pick for the Dons as he had an 83 percent save percentage and allowed just 1.16 goals per game for Columbus, which won its second-straight CWC championship with an 11-0-1 record (third in a row overall with the Mid-State Soccer Conference title in 2016) and finished 15-4-2 overall before losing in the WIAA Division 4 sectional semifinals.

Other Columbus players on the first team were Zach Olson, Tom Nystrom, Annika Brown, and Kellen Delaney.

Olson had eight goals and 15 assists, and Delaney finished the year with 11 goals and eight assists, to finish second and third on the team in scoring.

Nystrom had three goals and three assists, and Brown had one goal and three assists as both were key components in the Dons’ defensive alignment.

“This team came together and became a very formidable opponent for anyone we played,” said Columbus Catholic Jeff Edwards, who was named CWC Coach of the Year. “I was happy with the selflessness of this team and sharing the ball. Eighty-one percent of our goals scored had an assist after removing penalty kicks and own goals.

“It was a successful season winning the conference for the third-straight year and winning a regional title for the sixth-straight year. The players on this team know what is expected of them and pass that down to the first-year players.”

Junior midfielder Dylan Porter was a second-team selection for Columbus Catholic as he tallied nine goals and nine assists.

Noah Taylor and Addison Baierl each earned honorable mention status for the Dons.

2018 All-Central Wisconsin Conference Soccer Team
First Team
Kellen Heinzen, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic.
Forwards: Nadim Torbey, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Carson Sneller, sr., Amherst/Iola-Scandinavia/Rosholt.
Midfielders: Zach Olson, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Kellen Delaney, so., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Isaac Zahrt, sr., Northland Lutheran; Devin Pahl, so., Northland Lutheran; Jackson Glisczinski, sr., Amherst/Iola-Scandinavia/Rosholt.
Sweeper: Tom Nystrom, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic.
Defenders: Annika Brown, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Isaac Winkelman, sr., Amherst/Iola-Scandinavia/Rosholt.
Second Team
Dylan Porter, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Brad Truehl, sr., Tri-County; Vince Omernik, sr., Amherst/Iola-Scandinavia/Rosholt.
Forwards: Zack Fehrman, jr., Gresham/Bowler; Austin Hafermann, jr., Northland Lutheran; Mason Schlagenhaft, jr., Stevens Point Pacelli; Colton Mansavage, sr., Stevens Point Pacelli.
Defenders: Trent Eberhardy, jr., Northland Lutheran; Auggie Gavinski, jr., Northaldn Lutheran; Zach Peplinski, sr., Amherst/Iola-Scandinavia/Rosholt; Garrett Brown, sr., Amherst/Iola-Scandinavia/Rosholt.
Honorable Mention
Jose Martinez, jr., Tri-County; Gabe Gavinski, jr., Northland Lutheran; Caleb Gustafson, sr., Wisconsin Valley Lutheran; Sam LaMotte, so., Stevens Point Pacelli; Mason Czech, jr., Amherst/Iola-Scandinavia/Rosholt.
Defenders: Noah Taylor, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Josh Hoffman Jr., jr., Gresham/Bowler; Brenden Rohland, jr., Northland Lutheran; Ethan Melberg, so., Wisconsin Valley Lutheran; Charlie Kulick, so., Stevens Point Pacelli.
Midfielders: Addison Baierl, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; David Femal, sr., Tri-County; Kanon Haga, so., Northland Lutheran; Gabe Anklam, so., Wisconsin Valley Lutheran; Sam Basala, so., Stevens Point Pacelli.
Forward: Brandon Hetherman, sr., Wisconsin Valley Lutheran.
Player of the Year: Nadim Torbey, Marshfield Columbus Catholic.
Coach of the Year: Jeff Edwards, Marshfield Columbus Catholic.

Paul Lecker is publisher of and a contributor to