Ben Barten Wins 2019 All State Defensive Player of the Year

Ben Barten was named the 2019 Small School Defensive Player of the Year by the Wisconsin Football Coaches Association

Ben Barten is your 2019 Wisconsin Football Coaches Association Defensive Player of the Year and a double selection to the first-team all-state. Stratford has five selections to the 2019 first-team all-state list, and Marshall Lehman won Assistant Coach of the Year.

Barten, a senior and Wisconsin commit was a key part of the stifling Tiger defense that did not allow a point until the state semifinals. He recorded 58 tackles, 13 tackles for loss and three sacks for the Tigers this season.

First-team selections for the Tigers include Ben Barten at both offensive and defensive line, Vaughn Breit at tight end, Jaykob Mikelson at defensive end, Justin Schoenherr at inside linebacker.

All-State honorable mentions include Colby’s Connor Jeske and Medford’s Zac Breneman and Ean Wilson.

You can find a full list of the 2019 all-state teams here.


Steven Okonek
Author: Steven Okonek