Home Sports National Sports Baseball Hall of Fame ballot 2022: Alex Rodriguez, David Ortiz join; Bonds,...

Baseball Hall of Fame ballot 2022: Alex Rodriguez, David Ortiz join; Bonds, Clemens, Schilling in final year

The ballot for the 2022 BBWAA Baseball Hall of Fame class was released Monday. The 30-player ballot is headlined by some huge names in their 10th and final year on the ballot — Curt Schilling, Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens — as well as notable newcomers, like Alex Rodriguez and David Ortiz. 

In order to gain enshrinement into the Hall of Fame, a player needs to be named on at least 75 percent of the turned-in ballots from eligible BBWAA members. In order to avoid falling off the ballot, a player needs to get at least five percent. Players are eligible to remain on the ballot a maximum of 10 annual voting cycles.

The results of the vote will be revealed on Jan. 25, 2022. There are 17 holdover candidates in addition to 13 newcomers on the ballot. Newcomers are players who spent at least 10 seasons in the majors, have been retired for five years and were chosen by the Hall of Fame to be added to the ballot.

The big-name newcomers would be A-Rod and Big Papi, trickling down to Jimmy Rollins and Mark Teixeira. Some other notable first-timers include Joe Nathan, Jonathan Papelbon, Tim Lincecum, Jake Peavy, Justin Morneau, Carl Crawford and Prince Fielder.

Here are the holdovers, listed with the percentage of the vote they received last year and their current year on the ballot (meaning 10th is their final chance).

2022 Hall of Fame ballot holdovers

Curt Schilling 71.1 10th
Barry Bonds 61.8 10th
Roger Clemens 61.6 10th
Scott Rolen 52.9 5th
Omar Vizquel 49.1 5th
Billy Wagner 46.4 7th
Todd Helton 44.9 4th
Gary Sheffield 40.6 8th
Andruw Jones 33.9 5th
Jeff Kent 32.4 9th
Manny Ramirez 28.2 6th
Sammy Sosa 17.0 10th
Andy Pettitte 13.7 4th
Mark Buehrle 11.0 2nd
Torii Hunter 9.5 2nd
Bobby Abreu 8.7 3rd
Tim Hudson 5.2 2nd

2022 Hall of Fame ballot first-timers

  • Carl Crawford
  • Prince Fielder
  • Ryan Howard
  • Tim Lincecum
  • Justin Morneau
  • Joe Nathan
  • David Ortiz
  • Jonathan Papelbon
  • Jake Peavy
  • A.J. Pierzynski
  • Jimmy Rollins
  • Alex Rodriguez
  • Mark Teixeira

The BBWAA class will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in a ceremony in Cooperstown, New York on July 24, 2022. This class will be joined by any inductees from the Early Era and/or Golden Era committees.

We welcome your stories! Contact us at [email protected]!

David Keech
Author: David Keech

David Keech is a math teacher in Wisconsin Rapids and public address announcer for Abbotsord High School. He officiates basketball, baseball, and softball in central Wisconsin. He has reported on amateur sports since 2011, known as 'KeechDaVoice.' David can be reached at [email protected]