Auburndale’s Raab and Lau, Stratford’s Zawislan earn first-team honors on 2019 All-Marawood Conference South Division Softball Team

Auburndale senior outfielder Mackenzie Raab was a first-team selection to the 2019 All-Marawood Conference South Division Softball Team. (Photo courtesy of

By Paul Lecker
For OnFocus

Auburndale, Wisconsin Rapids Assumption and Marathon tied for the season championship and reaped the rewards with eight first-team selections to the 2019 All-Marawood Conference South Division Softball Team, which was voted on by the six conference coaches following the season.

Auburndale had a pair of unanimous first-team selections in outfielders Mackenzie Raab and Teryn Lau.

Both seniors, Raab hit a team-high .516 (32-for-62) and Lau batted .410 (26-for-61).

Raab had 31 runs scored and 11 RBIs, while Lau batted in 10 and scored 20 runs for the Apaches.

Senior second baseman Alexis Soppe, junior first baseman Natalie Aue, and junior utility player Abby Koopman were second-team selections for Auburndale, while junior pitcher Maggie Willfahrt and sophomore pitcher Hailey Grimm were honorable mention picks.

Koopman hit .383 with 16 RBIs, Aue batted .415 with six doubles, two home runs, 15 runs and nine RBIs, and Soppe hit .246 with 10 RBIs and 13 runs scored.

Wisconsin Rapids Assumption had four unanimous first-team picks in Kendall Schill, Elle Leberg, Sammy Nelson and Ellie Shaw, and Marathon had two first-team selections in junior Liz Boehm and sophomore Lindsay Pintor.

Wausau Newman Catholic’s Stevie Samuels and Stratford senior Mariah Zawislan round out the 10 player first team.

Junior Pagie Kolbeck was second-team selection, and senior Sydney Boeger and Mazie Nagel were honorable mention choices for Stratford.

Schill, Assumption’s pitcher, was named Player of the Year, and Auburndale’s Anna Teske was named Coach of the Year.

2019 All-Marawood Conference South Division Softball Team
*Unanimous selection
First team:
*Kendall Schill, jr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; *Elle Leberg, sr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; *Sammy Nelson, so., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; *Ellie Shaw, sr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; *Mackenzie Raab, sr., Auburndale; *Teryn Lau, sr., Auburndale; Liz Boehm, jr., Marathon; *Lindsay Pintor, so., Marathon; Stevie Samuels, so., Wausau Newman Catholic; *Mariah Zawislan, sr., Stratford.
Second team: Sydney Gotz, sr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Maddy Bohn, jr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Alexis Soppe, sr., Auburndale; Natalie Aue, jr., Auburndale; Abby Koopman, jr., Auburndale; Skylee Manecke, fr., Edgar; Hannah Hornung, jr., Marathon; Molly Mohr, jr., Marathon; Angela Rougeot, so., Wausau Newman Catholic; Paige Kolbeck, jr., Stratford.
Honorable mention: Jessie Grundhoffer, so., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Maggie Willfahrt, jr., Auburndale; Hailey Grimm, so., Auburndale; Mary Volm, jr., Edgar; Kailee Davis, jr., Edgar; Bailey Karlen, jr., Marathon; Breanna Karlen, jr., Marathon; Mackenzie Krach, sr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Grace Sukanen, so., Wausau Newman Catholic; Sydney Boeger, sr., Stratford; Mazie Nagel, sr., Stratford.
Player of the Year: Kendall Schill, jr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption.
Coach of the Year: Anne Teska, Auburndale.