Abbotsford Downs Loyal in Cloverwood Battle

Abbotsford (3-0, 0-2 Cloverwood) took a huge step tword winning another Cloverwood Conference Title with a 35-28 victory of the Loyal Greyhounds (0-3, 0-1 Cloverwood). Either Loyal or Abbotsford have won the Cloverwood Conference title every year since 2015.

Abbotsford opened the scoring on an 18 yard TD run by Cade Faber. Loyal would respond with a 6 yard TD run by Matt Szymanski. But Abbotsford would get one more TD in the first quarter on a 23 yard pass from Dalton Feddick to Faber.

Abbotsford would put two touchdwons on the board in the 2nd quarter, a 2 yard TD run by Mason Wellman, and a 21 yard TD pass from Feddick to Faber, taking a 28-6 score to the half.

Both teams would score in the third quarter, Loyal first on a 9 yard TD run by Nathan cuttng the score to 28-12 Buchanan, then Abbotsford responded with a 5 yard TD run by Ty Faltesiek.

Abbotsford looked to have a comfotable lead going into the 4th quarter, but Loyal had other thoughts, first Wyatt Dietsche would get a 2 yard TD run. Then Szymanski would score another TD from 3 yards out. Abbotsford would hold on to get the 35-28 victory.

Abbotsford’s next game is at Gilman on Sept. 13th at 7:00 PM. Loyal’s next game is Thursday Sept. 12th in Wisconsin Rapids as the Greyhounds take on the Assumption Royals at 7:00 PM. You can watch that game live at

Team Stats Team Leaders
Stats Loyal Abbotsford Loyal
1st Downs Passing Wyatt Dietsche 3-5 48 Yards
Rush Att. 47 48 Rushing Matt Szymanski 26 Att. 155 Yards 2 TD
Rush Yards 281 256 Receiving Jacob Baumgartner 1 Rec. 31 Yards
Pass Yards 48 67 Abbotsford
Pass Att 3 4 Passing Dalton Feddick 4-4 67 Yards 2 TD
Pass Comp. 5 4 Rushing Dalton Feddick 16 Att. 102 Yards
Total Yards Receiving Cade Faber 3 Rec. 59 Yards 2 TD