16th Annual Crystal Apple Award Winners Announced

Marshfield – The Marshfield Area Chamber of Commerce & Industry kicked off their 2019 Crystal Apple Program in September, when area business leaders visited classrooms, invited students to fill out nominations, and distributed gifts of appreciation to every teacher in the participating school districts.

Partners in Educational Excellence and Workforce Development received 760 nominations this year for 310 different teachers. From these names, a ballot was created for teachers to vote on their top selections – a minimum of one teacher was selected to represent each school.

In November, the following Teachers of Distinction were announced:

Michelle Abel – Pittsville Elementary
Nancy Baierl – Columbus Catholic OLP
Kristie Bangart – St. Joseph’s Stratford
Timothy Bergelin – Marshfield High
Madalyn Field – Marshfield Middle
Janeen Herkert – Lincoln Elementary
Brenda Kuhnau – Immanuel Lutheran
Cari Martin – Washington Elementary
Dean McFarlane – Marshfield High School
Carey Petri – Greenwood Elementary
Kris Phillips – Nasonville Elementary
Abbi Roehrborn – Spencer High
Shelisa Schmidt – Grant Elementary
Todd Steward – Pittsville High
Holly Strey – Spencer Elementary
Kayleigh Vantassel – Granton
Steve Voss – Auburndale Elementary
Mike Wisniewski – Trinity Lutheran School
Christine Zanotelli – Madison Elementary

As the selection process moved forward, recommendations from school principals were provided and the Teachers of Distinction submitted a personal statement describing their educational philosophy. The written materials identified ways these teachers inspire and motivate students, their use of innovative projects or programs, as well as their involvement in the community and their pursuit of professional development.

The final step occurred the end of February when the Teachers of Distinction met with a selection panel comprised of leaders from area businesses who place a high value on an educated workforce. The final selection was based on expertise (professionalism, knowledge of subject matter); innovation (advanced classroom techniques, teaching methods); and leadership (student guidance and rapport, reputation among colleagues, community involvement).

Our 2019 Crystal Apple winners were announced in each of their schools on March 5. This year’s winners are: Kara Lasiewicz-Auburndale Middle/High, Jonathan Hitchcock-Grant Elementary, Deborah Kennedy-Columbus Catholic Middle/High, and Noah Werner-Greenwood High.

All Teachers of Distinction will be honored at the Crystal Apple Awards banquet to be held 
May 1, 2019, at the Hotel Marshfield in Marshfield.

News Desk
Author: News Desk

This piece was posted by our news team! Contact us or submit stories at [email protected]